Mass Business Insurance Blog: NEW CELL PHONE TEXTING LAW (Safe Driving Law) - Massachusetts

NEW CELL PHONE TEXTING LAW (Safe Driving Law) - Massachusetts

NEW CELL PHONE TEXTING LAW (Safe Driving Law) - Massachusetts
Effective September 30, 2010

 

Sending or Reading Electronic Messages:

Operators cannot use any mobile device to write, send or read an e-message while operating a vehicle. This LAW applies to all drivers of all ages.
PENALTY (for all ages)
1st offense = $100 fine
2nd offense = $250 fine
3rd offense + = $500 fine

*****************************************************************************************************************

 

OPERATORS UNDER AGE 18:

Age 18 and under cannot use any mobile e device for any reason while operating a motor vehicle.
Exception: Emergency Only
PENALTY (18 or under)
1st offense = $100 fine; 60 day license suspension and an attitudinal retraining course
2nd offense = $250 fine; 180 day license suspension
3rd offense + = $500 fine; one year suspension

*****************************************************************************************************************

 

Unsafe or impeded operation due to the use of a mobile phone:

Operators over 18 can use mobile phone for calls as long as one hand is on steering wheel at all times. The use of a mobile phone must not interfere with driving and cannot be used for texting.
PENALTY (for all ages):
1st offense = $35 fine
2nd offense (within 12 months) = $75 fine
3rd offense (within 12 months) = $50 fine

NOTE: IT IS NOT AN OFFENSE IF THE VEHICLE IS PARKED IN AN AREA OF THE ROAD NOT MEANT FOR DRIVING.

*****************************************************************************************************************

 

NEGLIGENT OPERATION AND INJURY FROM MOBILE PHONE USE:

Personal injury or property damage caused by negligent operation of a motor vehicle is a CRIMINAL OFFENSE. If you crash because you were using a mobile electronic device you will face criminal charges. In addition to the criminal charges, you will face loss of license as described below:
PENALTY (under age 18):
1st offense = 180 day suspension
2nd offense + within 3 years = one year suspension
PENALTY (18 Years or older):
1st offense = 60 day suspension
2nd offense + within 3 years = one year suspension

 

 

Comment balloon 4 commentsAJ Marchionne • October 06 2010 08:45AM

Comments

It's about time, I remember in driver's ed back a few decades ago the intructor said "two hands on the wheel"....what ever happened to that .

Posted by David Popoff, Realtor®,SRS, Green ~ Fairfield County, Ct (DMK Real Estate ) about 10 years ago

I agree with David, it's time for some sort of legislation and penalties - too many people are "distracted drivers" and studies have illustrated the difference is very similar to driving under the influence.

Posted by Carol Zingone, Global Realtor in Jax Beach, FL - ABR, CRS, CIPS (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Florida Network Realty) about 10 years ago

We've had a similar law here in GA for a few months now.  I'm all for eliminating driving distractions!

Posted by Anita Clark, Realtor - Homes for Sale in Warner Robins GA (Coldwell Banker Access Realty ~ 478.960.8055) about 10 years ago

Good News! Arbella Charitable Foundation is providing a solution to our recently licensed drivers. In May 2010 AJ Marchionne Insurance was the first independent agency to host Distractology 101. It is a free simulated driving class to show the dangers of distracted driving to inexperienced drivers. We had around 60 people participate throughout the week. The bus "Distractology 101" travels to a new destination in Mass weekly. You can find when it will be close to you by looking at the schedule on the website. The bus will make 3 tours around the state - 1 per year.

Check out Meredith Vieira from the TODAY SHOW testing it out!

Posted by AJ Marchionne, Condo Association Insurance Boston, MA (AJ Marchionne Insurance Agency Inc) about 10 years ago

Participate